Posted in general and welcome

When author asides don’t work

One of the great things about being an adult reading children’s books to children is seeing their reaction to the stories they hear. It’s something of a paradox that most people who write or draw for children are grown-up – this discrepancy between ages doesn’t tend to happen, to my knowledge, in other areas of fiction – and it’s a topic that we touched upon at times in my MA in Children’s Literature. This is why it takes a truly exceptional author to be attuned to what children want to read about and the kind of language that works best.

Most of the books I read aloud to the children at school hit the spot but I came across one the week before last that didn’t sit right – with me or them. It was a lovely book – beautifully illustrated and focusing on a very relevant subject for children. The book was The Dark by Lemony Snicket, illustrated by Jon Klassen.

https://i0.wp.com/images.gr-assets.com/books/1350766092l/15790852.jpg

As you can probably guess, this book is about what it says in the title. Little Laszlo, our hero, is afraid of the Dark (personified in this story) and visits it every day in its place in the hope that it doesn’t visit him at night in his bedroom.

https://artworthreading.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/lazlo.jpg?w=953&h=667

As the little cliffhanger in the picture above shows, the Dark did visit Laszlo one night. From this point on, the Dark challenges Laszlo to ‘come closer’ to where the Dark normally lives – in the basement and the little boy must be brave to discover what it is the Dark wants from him.

From the beginning of the book to the point where Laszlo is about to make the pivotal discovery, this reads like a suspense story. Klassen’s beautifully stark illustrations draw the reader in as much (possibly more) than Snicket’s words. However, at this key juncture, Snicket interrupts his previously pared-down  narrative approach to give his reader a one-page address:

the-dark

(Apologies for the terrible resolution on this – I couldn’t get my camera to work properly…)

Now, every time I came to this page, with every year group I read this to, their previously rapt attention wavered. Their eyes started looking elsewhere, the fidgeting started, a few whispers were heard. It was as if someone had switched off the lights suddenly.

As the person reading this, I also felt uncomfortable. I’d followed the rhythm of the book, enjoying the build-up, whipping them up into a state of nail-biting anticipation (OK, a little hyperbole there, but never mind) and then poured cold water over them by making them listen to a page of text that was completely different in style to the rest of the book. It was the equivalent of showing an audience the film ‘Jaws’ and -at the moment when you’re wondering if the saviours are going to capture the massive beast or become shark food – sliding in a Jacques Cousteau documentary on sharks (you can watch an interesting one here).

https://i0.wp.com/www.cedmagic.com/v-title-database/jail/jacques-cousteau-v1-1.jpg

After my third distracted group, I tried a different tactic with the fourth; I read the book and omitted that page. Bingo. The story worked brilliantly – suspense was maintained and the children enjoyed it to the end. Then we had a discussion about the dark afterwards – raising the sort of points Snicket does on that whole-pager. Because they are good points but they feel desperately in the wrong place. I am intrigued, actually, to know why that editorial decision was made.

So it got me wondering about author asides. Even with a popular and well-loved writer, are they good things? Is it a question of location, location, location? Or is it best to let the story tell itself?

Over to you…

 

Author:

Childtastic Books started out as a collaborative blog, written by me and my young daughter Holly. Now she's nearly a teen, she's off doing exciting and new things but I am still here, reading, writing and reviewing books for children and young adults of all ages. I miss her input but I hope she will pop in from time to time to do some guest posts! A little about me - I have just finished an MA in Children's Literature from the University of Roehampton (result pending, eeek) and am a part-time primary school librarian. The other part of my time is spent writing and editing, my own work and others, and I am waiting for my first non-fiction book to be published - a teacher resources pack for Handa's Surprise. I welcome comments and love to hear from visitors to this blog. Please note though that, because of time constraints, it is rare that I can read and review books from self-published authors. I receive so many requests and feel badly about not being able to keep up with them all. Thanks for visiting! Sam

2 thoughts on “When author asides don’t work

  1. What an interesting post. My guess is that the author put in that ‘aside’ there to mitigate the scariness of this book – which you only have to look at to see how scary it is! Brilliant illustrations but with my children we’d never have got beyond the front cover, in fact if someone had bought this book for them I’d have hidden/given it away. I understand what Snicket is trying to do – enable children to conquer their fears by facing them – but this book would have given at least one of my daughters nightmares. Similarly any story about Beasts Under The Bed would also get nowhere with my family.

    Grasping the nettle doesn’t always work. Actually, it leaves you with a handful of stings (I know, I tried this when young,)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Griselda for the comment. I agree – this book is an interesting concept but could be quite scary for some children. Luckily the ones I read it to were all right with it, unless I go back into work tomorrow to hoards of angry parents! The nettles incident sounds truly painful – ouch…

      Like

Leave a Reply

