Posted in general and welcome

Kitties galore

Twitter has been full of posts today to celebrate National Cat Day. I’m a sucker for sweet pics of felines doing silly or adorable things, so this ‘celebration’ is right up my street. I was just about to pen a post (I shouldn’t say ‘pen’ should I when I am working on a laptop?) when the Guardian beat me to it with ‘Pip Jones’s Top 10 cats in children’s books’.

Nevertheless, it got me thinking about lovely cats I have met while reading children’s books. There are many on Pip Jones’s list that I agree with: Mog the Forgetful Cat, Six Dinner Sid, The Cat in the Hat, Gobbolino… to name a few. But I can think of a few more that deserve a big mention too, as they played an important part in bedtime stories either when I was young or when we read picture books to Holly ever night. So here are my additions to the list, in no particular order of popularity:

1. Captain’s Purr, by Madeleine Floyd

We love this love story about Captain, the cat who likes to eat, sleep, wash himself and wander out at nighttime to woo his lady friend in a little row boat. It’s magical, romantic and very sweet indeed. Floyd’s watercolour paintings are gorgeous and complement Captain’s gentle gallantry.

2. Wilbur the cat, in the Winnie the Witch series, by Valerie Thomas and Korky Paul

Long-suffering but fiercely loyal Wilbur must rank as a favourite in children’s books. He’s had all sorts of things done to him – accidentally of course – while Winnie tries her hardest to cast effective spells, but he stays with his human through thick and thin (and worse). Paul’s illustrations bring this wonderful character to life and give him much more of a status than mere sidekick.

3. Huckle, and all of Richard Scarry’s cats

Richard Scarry was – and still is – one of my favourite authors and illustrators and I particularly adored Huckle and the other cats in his work. Scarry gave his characters such… character – a kind of frantic happiness in their features which makes me giggle just to look at them. I am glad to have the series at school now, where they are frequently borrowed.

4. The Owl and the Pussycat, by Edward Lear – illustrated (here) by Lynton Lamb

This is one of my favourite poems, and I love how the marriage between two such disparate animals doesn’t seem strange to me (maybe I am strange). And the cat uses a great verb – tarried – to rhyme with married, which my cats would never say. Kudos to the cat, for marrying a bird (and not slaughtering it like my cat would do) and using fab vocab.

5. Lord Gort, from Blitzcat, by Robert Westall

Robert Westall was a massive cat lover and one of his best books, in my opinion, has a feline as the central character. Lord Gort, a female black cat bizarrely named after a British soldier and commandant, lives a happy life until her male owner is sent to fight in the Second World War. Bereft, she uses ‘psi-tracking’ – a supposedly paranormal ability – to try to track him down, and meets a variety of people along her way, all of whom she somehow helps. Westall doesn’t resort to anthropomorphism in this story but, through Lord Gort’s tenacity, resourcefulness and compassion, we get a good picture of her character and become to know her, care for her and root for her. It’s a harrowing and honest portrayal of the deprivations and horrors of life in WWII Britain but it is rewarding and very moving.

6. William the detective cat in William Heads to Hollywood and William & The Missing Masterpiece, by Helen Hancocks

I fell in love immediately with suave and sophisticated William in Helen Hancocks’s first book featuring the feline detective (Missing Masterpiece) and was delighted when the next book came out this summer (Hollywood). He’s how I imagine some cats to be – clever, debonair and on the prowl for clues. Even if William sometimes misses an important lead, his stylish manner makes him instantly forgivable.

There are more amazing kitties out there. Michael Morpurgo has written some lovely books with cats as central characters, including Adolphus Tips, Kaspar Prince of Cats and Montezuma, all of which are worth a look. It’s great to celebrate cats instead of seeing them as evildoers, especially with Hallowe’en coming up! Although my one of my two kitties – Lily – has a murderous streak and an occasional evil eye.

I’ll end with a sketch Holly drew today for the Royal Academy’s Twitter competition – to sketch a cat in pen. She enjoyed this and I can verify that her attempt was far better, and more skilled, than my own!

Holly's Cat, drawn in pen
Holly’s Cat, drawn in pen
Author:

Childtastic Books started out as a collaborative blog, written by me and my young daughter Holly. Now she's nearly a teen, she's off doing exciting and new things but I am still here, reading, writing and reviewing books for children and young adults of all ages. I miss her input but I hope she will pop in from time to time to do some guest posts! A little about me - I have just finished an MA in Children's Literature from the University of Roehampton (result pending, eeek) and am a part-time primary school librarian. The other part of my time is spent writing and editing, my own work and others, and I am waiting for my first non-fiction book to be published - a teacher resources pack for Handa's Surprise. I welcome comments and love to hear from visitors to this blog. Please note though that, because of time constraints, it is rare that I can read and review books from self-published authors. I receive so many requests and feel badly about not being able to keep up with them all. Thanks for visiting! Sam

Leave a Reply

