Childtastic goes pop-up!

Dear Readers,

I am very excited because tomorrow I am having my very first pop-up book stall! And it will be called Childtastic Books. 🙂

It’s all come about very suddenly, although I have been thinking about doing this for a while. Over the last two years, I have amassed a fairly large amount of children’s books which I am keen to pass on to other enthusiastic readers. So I asked about the possibility of having a stall in Oxford’s outdoor Thursday market – usually an antiques one, but tomorrow it’s also hosting a popular Farmers’ Market. I was told that my stall had been booked, leaving me in a bit of a panic about getting everything ready in time! I have now separated my books into picture books, small picture books, fiction for 7+, fiction for 9+ and teen fiction, with another box for non-fiction. There will also be a box for parents too, to browse.

There will be fairy lights (I hope) strewn around the stall, and I am happy to also advise anyone who wants suggestions of good books to read or buy, for themselves or others. I had lots of other ideas to try out, had I had the time, but it will be good anyway to see how things go, and hopefully chat to customers and other market stallholders. The only downside is the time – I need to be there by 8am at the latest! But it will be worth it, I am sure, if only for the experience.

If you are in or near Oxford tomorrow and fancy popping by to say ‘hi’ I would love to meet you! I think the market generally runs from 9am-3pm(ish) and there are lots of other interesting stalls. Let’s just hope the rain and wind hold off!

I will write an update of how it all went – perhaps with a picture or two!

Another view of the Antique Market
Antiques market on Thursdays in Oxford. Image courtesy of http://www.theoldhomestore.co.uk.
4 Comments Add yours

  1. Lynne says:

    So cool, Sam! Way to make the dream real. SO wish I was there to see it. Hope everything goes splendidly!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you, Lynne! I really wish you were here too! I hope all is well with you and the family xx

    Like

  3. This sounds wonderful, and I wish I could come to your sale! (p.s. html coding is filling up the second half of your post.) Happy Easter!

    Like

    1. Thanks for noticing the coding! Not sure what happened there…

      Like

Leave a Reply

