Posted in general and welcome

Inspiring ideas and a great feature

I was browsing on Twitter tonight when I came across a link to a Guardian feature on footballers choosing their favourite books – as a child and an adult. You can read them here.

This is fantastic fodder for young children, especially boys, who might be reluctant at picking up books. What I found especially inspiring was the number of non-fiction titles in there for the adult reads. This really does help to show that it’s not just hefty fictional tomes that count as ‘proper’ reading but biographies, political essays, and travel writing, too. There are novels in there too but there’s a great mixture of subjects which shows just how broad reading is.

The children’s choices were interesting to note. Many were well established classics, such as Dr Seuss, Harry Potter, The Gruffalo, etc, which many children will probably have encountered at school at least, if not at home.

I like the idea of showing how reading choices progress with age, though I am probably an example of someone who progressed and now is enjoying regressing to children’s books! So I wanted to put it out to you, lovely readers – what was your favourite book when you were young and what is it now? (If like me you struggle to have one favourite, just choose one of many!)

For me, my childhood pick would have to  be Richard Scarry,  in particular the tale of The Teeny Tiny Woman.

For my adult choice, I remember being blown away by Arthur Golden’s Memoirs of a Geisha. Funnily enough, I’ve never returned to read this, worried that the magic wouldn’t be there a second time. The first and only time I read it I remember feeling impatient to read it whenever I could, but then dreading the end when I knew the story would be over and I would feel bereft.

goodreads.com

I’ve asked Holly her favourites and she said as a little child, then she would have chosen The Twins at St Clares. Now, her favourite is a newish book out called Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens as she’s into crime fiction.

goodreads.com

So, please DO share your favourites. I’d love to hear them.

Author:

Childtastic Books started out as a collaborative blog, written by me and my young daughter Holly. Now she's nearly a teen, she's off doing exciting and new things but I am still here, reading, writing and reviewing books for children and young adults of all ages. I miss her input but I hope she will pop in from time to time to do some guest posts! A little about me - I have just finished an MA in Children's Literature from the University of Roehampton (result pending, eeek) and am a part-time primary school librarian. The other part of my time is spent writing and editing, my own work and others, and I am waiting for my first non-fiction book to be published - a teacher resources pack for Handa's Surprise. I welcome comments and love to hear from visitors to this blog. Please note though that, because of time constraints, it is rare that I can read and review books from self-published authors. I receive so many requests and feel badly about not being able to keep up with them all. Thanks for visiting! Sam

3 thoughts on “Inspiring ideas and a great feature

  1. Reblogged this on stizwal and commented:
    I love hearing about people’s favourite stories as that is the way of keeping the stories alive. I have very fond memories of sitting on my grandad’s lap being read Rupert the Bear. As i have read to my children over the years i think that ‘Owl Babies’ is one of my favourites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

