Posted in general and welcome

What a wonderful World Book Day 2015!

I am sitting here, writing this, and feeling exhausted and exhilarated. We’ve just had a brilliant World Book Day at St Michael’s Primary School, thanks to the fantastic Peter Bently and his fun and informative brand of humour. Key Stage 2 pupils (years 3-6) were treated to a cornucopia (what a lovely, big word) of funny jokes and facts about medieval life, linked to Peter’s hilarious series Knightmare!. (Review to come soon.) Of course the fact that much of it focused on medieval gardrobes (poo closets where clothes were kept, as folk believed the smell would repel the moths) captured the children’s imagination and sense of humour as two hapless characters had the unenviable job of trying to climb a guard robe tower. Peter then invited the children to be his squires or pages to help him don his suit of armour … and everyone was desperate to have a go.

Please, sire, let me be your squire!
Please, sire, let me be your squire!

All Peter could do was stand there while we tried to attach the various parts…

WBD 2015 036
Is this a foot I see before me? (By the way, I am in the embarrassing stripy PJ bottoms, a la jester mode.)
It took four of us to fasten the leg armor!
It took four of us to fasten the leg armour!

After that, we heard about how difficult it was for knights to ride and fight, wearing the equivalent of two men’s body weight on their body. And how they sometimes had to be hoisted onto horseback with ropes!. Luckily Peter managed to get onto this horse without too much trouble.

What horses used to be used for in ye olde school gymnasiums. Honest...
What horses used to be used for in ye olde school gymnasiums. Honest…

After a morning of jesting and jousting, we moved into Key Stage 1 for some picture book fun. The children, predictably, LOVED The Great Dog Bottom Swap (you can read our review here) and the Reception teacher could barely suppress her giggles as she held up the book.

Not quite sure what Peter was doing here - I think gnawing a pretend bone. But it certainly tickled Kylie's funny bones!
Not quite sure what Peter was doing here – I think gnawing a pretend bone. But it certainly tickled Kylie’s funny bones!

At the end of the day, we had our official library opening and Peter cut the ribbon with proper scissors, otherwise we might have been there all day with the child-safe ones.

Cutting the ribbon...
Cutting the ribbon…

And then we had tea, cakes, and book selling and signing. The queues were phenomenal. WBD 2015 111 At 4pm it was time to pack Peter into a taxi and back to Devon. But the buzz in the school carried on well past his departure. I am sure tomorrow I will be reading more of Peter’s books to the children! I will leave you with some pictures of the artwork children have been doing to prepare for Peter’s visit. The library feels cosy and official now! Happy World Book Day!

Our medieval display boards...
Our medieval display boards…
Cardboard castles and fairy lights
Cardboard castles and fairy lights
If you look carefully you can see a glimpse of Puss in Boots.
If you look carefully you can see a glimpse of Puss in Boots.
A medieval cardboard shield, decorated with decoupage. Genuine article.
A medieval cardboard shield, decorated with decoupage. Genuine article.
Author:

Childtastic Books started out as a collaborative blog, written by me and my young daughter Holly. Now she's nearly a teen, she's off doing exciting and new things but I am still here, reading, writing and reviewing books for children and young adults of all ages. I miss her input but I hope she will pop in from time to time to do some guest posts! A little about me - I have just finished an MA in Children's Literature from the University of Roehampton (result pending, eeek) and am a part-time primary school librarian. The other part of my time is spent writing and editing, my own work and others, and I am waiting for my first non-fiction book to be published - a teacher resources pack for Handa's Surprise. I welcome comments and love to hear from visitors to this blog. Please note though that, because of time constraints, it is rare that I can read and review books from self-published authors. I receive so many requests and feel badly about not being able to keep up with them all. Thanks for visiting! Sam

Leave a Reply

