Posted in general and welcome

2013 in review and Happy 2014 to everyone!

We have had some exciting stats through today about our year in blogging that we wanted to share with you. We’re so thrilled!

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2013 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 15,000 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 6 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

It’s been a very eventful year, including attending our first ever book launch for The Weasel Puffin Unicorn Baboon Pig Lobster Race and an interview in the Saturday Telegraph about child bloggers.

Of course none of this would be possible without our amazing followers, so a huge thank you to everyone who checks in here to read what we have to say. Holly and I would particularly like to thank our top commenters:

  • Griselda Heppel, author of the wonderful children’s/young adult novel Ante’s Inferno – check out her website! http://www.antesinferno.com/
  • Zoe Toft, at the fantastic Playing by the Book children’s blog – http://www.playingbythebook.net/
  • My Beautiful Things – a lovely blog dedicated to finding the beauty and joy in life, every day of the week: http://mybeautfulthings.wordpress.com/
  • Judi Moore, my great friend and OU creative writing tutor (she taught me – Sam!) and author of Is Death Really Necessary? She also has a great blog, often with music reviews – http://judimoore.wordpress.com/
  • Lost and Found Books – a fascinating book blog based in Canada which not only contains reviews of books but also how we all relate to them and why we love (or hate!) what we read – http://lostandfoundbooks.wordpress.com/

Without people responding to what we write, this would be less rewarding an endeavor. So thank you everyone!

What 2014 holds in store

I’d say pretty much of the same! We continue to look forward to reviewing children’s and young adult books, and reporting back on book-related activities. However, you might be seeing a little less of Holly next year I think. While she undoubtedly will be posting about some things, I think that an increased workload in preparation for her SATs at the end of primary school will be taking a lot of her time up, as will other activities. Holly is still a very keen reader, but I feel that she wants to branch out and look into other interests and I am very aware that I don’t want this blog to turn into a chore, as reading and writing should never ever become that. She’s getting older now and it’s important for her to stretch her wings.

So there will likely be more from Sam, and potentially some posts related to my Masters, which of course is in Children’s Literature.

Finally, I believe this is our 200th post! How very fitting for this occasion! Thank you all so much for your support in 2013 and we look forward to sharing more in 2014.

Have a very happy, peaceful and successful New Year.

Sam and Holly

Author:

Childtastic Books started out as a collaborative blog, written by me and my young daughter Holly. Now she's nearly a teen, she's off doing exciting and new things but I am still here, reading, writing and reviewing books for children and young adults of all ages. I miss her input but I hope she will pop in from time to time to do some guest posts! A little about me - I have just finished an MA in Children's Literature from the University of Roehampton (result pending, eeek) and am a part-time primary school librarian. The other part of my time is spent writing and editing, my own work and others, and I am waiting for my first non-fiction book to be published - a teacher resources pack for Handa's Surprise. I welcome comments and love to hear from visitors to this blog. Please note though that, because of time constraints, it is rare that I can read and review books from self-published authors. I receive so many requests and feel badly about not being able to keep up with them all. Thanks for visiting! Sam

3 thoughts on “2013 in review and Happy 2014 to everyone!

  1. Tee hee I’ve just noticed you have me down as author of Dante’s Inferno. Ah, if only…. but in fairness I’d better admit that I’m not the great poet himself, only a great Dantephile! My version of his imagined journey into the Underworld is called Ante’s Inferno.

    Like

Leave a Reply

