Posted in general and welcome, pre-teen

Review: Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell

Tonight’s review is of Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell.

image courtesy of http://www.faber.co.uk

What it’s about (from the publisher):

Everyone tells Sophie she was orphaned in a shipwreck. But Sophie is convinced her mother also survived. When no one believes her, Sophie sets out to prove them wrong. On the run from the authorities, Sophie finds Matteo and the other rooftoppers – children who live in the sky. In a race across the rooftops of Paris, will they help her find her mother, before it’s too late?
A beautiful story about pursuing your dreams and never ignoring a possible.

Holly’s review:

This book is about a girl called Sophie who goes on a hunt to find her mother, which includes going abroad to France. While she is there she meets some kids on rooftops and travels around with them at night.

I loved this book. It was brilliant. I just really love Katherine Rundell’s books and think they are so amazing and out of the box. She just has a really (to me) distinctive type of writing.

Reading this book was like living it, exploring each page like she explored Paris by the rooftops, climbing up each page to get to the top and the end. Each hand hold became a new word and each step became a new page.

I think this book was really moving because of how Sophie kept going, always determined to find her mother. I am willing Katherine Rundell to keep writing on  because I love her books.

Sam’s review:

It’s hard to write something after Holly’s praise but I am totally in agreement with her that Katherine Rundell’s novels for children are quite amazing. She has a unique ability to combine a page-turning plot with poetic descriptions and beautiful writing. Equally, her characters are drawn so vividly that by the end of each book you feel kind of bereft at leaving them to continue their undocumented journey. I loved the descriptions of Paris in this book, of Sophie’s nocturnal escapes and her unerring determination to find her mother after so many years apart. We all enjoyed reading this book together (Holly, me and her father) and I expect we will be watching out for the next one eagerly!

Author:

Childtastic Books started out as a collaborative blog, written by me and my young daughter Holly. Now she's nearly a teen, she's off doing exciting and new things but I am still here, reading, writing and reviewing books for children and young adults of all ages. I miss her input but I hope she will pop in from time to time to do some guest posts! A little about me - I have just finished an MA in Children's Literature from the University of Roehampton (result pending, eeek) and am a part-time primary school librarian. The other part of my time is spent writing and editing, my own work and others, and I am waiting for my first non-fiction book to be published - a teacher resources pack for Handa's Surprise. I welcome comments and love to hear from visitors to this blog. Please note though that, because of time constraints, it is rare that I can read and review books from self-published authors. I receive so many requests and feel badly about not being able to keep up with them all. Thanks for visiting! Sam

One thought on “Review: Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell

Leave a Reply

