Posted in general and welcome

A request from Holly…

Children and adults:

I want to know – do you or did you like school, or half and half?

You often find that kids say they don’t like school because they want to impress their friends but it doesn’t matter here – you can be honest and say if you do or don’t like school.

If it helps, I like school because I have a nice teacher and a nice class.

So, type up your comments. I want to know!  Anyone can say – whether you are at school now or are grown up.

Thank you

Holly x

Author:

Childtastic Books started out as a collaborative blog, written by me and my young daughter Holly. Now she's nearly a teen, she's off doing exciting and new things but I am still here, reading, writing and reviewing books for children and young adults of all ages. I miss her input but I hope she will pop in from time to time to do some guest posts! A little about me - I have just finished an MA in Children's Literature from the University of Roehampton (result pending, eeek) and am a part-time primary school librarian. The other part of my time is spent writing and editing, my own work and others, and I am waiting for my first non-fiction book to be published - a teacher resources pack for Handa's Surprise. I welcome comments and love to hear from visitors to this blog. Please note though that, because of time constraints, it is rare that I can read and review books from self-published authors. I receive so many requests and feel badly about not being able to keep up with them all. Thanks for visiting! Sam

18 thoughts on “A request from Holly…

  1. I’m a rather overgrown child now (40 next year), so there’s a lot I don’t remember about school. What I *do* remember though is that while I loved primary school, I hated going to secondary school. Primary school was all about running round the playground with my friends pretending to be unicorns, but somehow in secondary school none of the other children wanted to play unicorn games (silly children!) and just wanted to gossip about everyone else and what was on TV. I found it all a bit of a shock, and as a result was rather miserable throughout my secondary school years. On the other hand, I did like the lessons there, so it wasn’t all bad. But I’d still much rather be a unicorn.

    Like

    1. Hi Elli
      Thank you for your comment. Yes, I think it would have been nice for them to play unicorn games in secondary schools but kids always think they have to grow up then. I have never actually played unicorn games but in school I have played cat and human games or Victorians in the past games. That was very helpful for you to comment – thanks!
      Holly

      Like

  2. At the time when I was at school I didn’t feel like I enjoyed it very much. However, with the passage of time I look back on my school years fondly and have nothing but good memories of them. For that reason I’m going to answer your question with 50/50 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m 60 now. I didn’t like my final primary school much because I was bullied. On the up side we did cool stuff like Latin, French, Nature Study, flower arranging and embroidery. And you could have piano lessons (I did). They grew their own vegetables. I got introduced to artichokes and spinach and runny poached eggs. None of that went well. I sang in the school choir for services. In latin! It was a really high church school. Which is odd as my parents were atheists. I met P G Wodehouse at that school; I was 8. Love at first sight. Oh – it sounds as if I did quite like it. Apart from the social side which was a complete bust.

    Secondary school I enjoyed more because I had friends. I cruised for 3 years while the grammar school caught up with what I already knew about latin and french and maths. So it taught me (dear dear!) to get by doing the minimum. First did drama at secondary school. I don’t remember there being any singing (boo). Learned to love motor cars and racing thanks to super 8 movies at lunchtime in the Physics lab (which was the only use I ever got out of Physics, Chemistry or Biology labs, dunno why). We didn’t get magnificent exam results at that school, but it did turn out more than its fair share of … slightly quirky people. Hooray!

    Like

      1. The drama I did at school set up a lifelong love of it in me. As did the singing at primary. Living in Cornwall we were a long way away from professional theatre most of the time (touring companies would occasionally come and there might be something on at the Minack in the summer). And I saw some pop bands at Exeter, Plymouth and Truro in my teens. Then I discovered folk music and spent around 15 years heavily into that. Now it’s drama again. Mainly watching, these days. Short term memory’s gone, so I’m no good at learning lines any more.

        Like

  4. I’m 38 and I didn’t really enjoy either primary or secondary school although they had some good moments. I liked getting good grades, that made me happy. I didn’t have many friends because I was very shy and introverted, and I never really understood other people. I didn’t understand that some children weren’t really being friendly but were teasing me. With four older siblings I knew most of what we were taught at primary school from home (reading, telling time, maths etc) and for secondary I only listened to the bits I was interested in and ignored the rest. As an adult I’ve self taught myself anything I needed and find instruction frustrating and distracting, although I do like to know that there are people I can ask if I get stuck and I love the internet for that. It’s not the answer I’m supposed to tell children but in retrospect I found schooling pointless, was miserable for most of it, and try not to think about it much!

    Like

    1. Dear ChildLedChaos
      That is a very interesting comment. Thank you for posting it and being honest. Personally, I quite like school but sometimes I get fed up when I don’t get enough lines in assembly for example.
      Holly

      Like

  5. I loved Primary school. It is the teachers and my friends I remember the most. Unfortunately, I didn’t know anyone at my secondary school and as I was quite shy, I didn’t make the effort to make friends. Because of this I hated secondary, I just kept my head down and plodded on.

    Like

  6. I went to school in NYC and I can honestly say I hated elementary school more than I can even express. I was an undiagnosed dyslexic and became the school example of the great failure. Year after year they told my mother I couldn’t read, yet no one bothered to wonder why I have finished all 8 books in the Green Gables series by mid 4th grade (my father taught me young using some of the methods later developed for learning challenged kids).
    Junior High was somewhat better, high school was OK but graduation was the happiest day of my life. And it took me a few years after that before I decided to go to college. Today I have a PhD in German Literature.

    Like

    1. Wow, Alex, what an inspiring story you tell of your battle with dyslexia. The fact that you still were determined to read (your dad and his methods sound amazing) is incredibly inspiring. And to carry on reading in German no less and get a PhD! What a remarkable story and thank you for sharing it with us.
      Sam and Holly

      Like

  7. Hmm I’ve had to think about this. I think I did enjoy the academic side of school (being a swot, gulp) but my memory of the social side is that it was a constant battle from around age 10 onwards. Before that I had one BEST friend, so wasn’t bothered about making any others, though my mother tried to encourage me. At 10 I went to boarding school and didn’t really make friends, so just muddled along until I changed schools again at 12. There I met my second, best lifelong friend but she was a daygirl and so not around at weekends. I got along ok but remember so well that feeling of tagging along with others & trying to be their friend, and being alone (sometimes by choice!) at other times. But I had fun too – I remember giggling (over NOTHING AT ALL) through a whole double period of music once, to the perplexity of our kind, gentle teacher who clearly found it rather hurtful. I felt bad about that.

    Thing is, school is inseparable from growing up, which is painful at times!

    Like

      1. I was so excited to be going. We lived in Germany and my 2 elder brothers were already at boarding school & came back for holidays full of funny stories of scrapes and midnight feasts… needless to say the reality was rather different. I did get homesick, especially in the first year. Having parents so far away meant I couldn’t go home at weekends, like other girls did, and I wandered round outdoors in all weathers (we weren’t allowed inside – the school believed firmly in Healthful Fresh Air) trying to find things to do. We couldn’t phone our parents – all communication was by letter. Boarding is very different now, with frequent exeats and children able to talk to parents whenever they want on mobile phones; also schools are much better at laying on fun trips and entertainments (eg going to a theme park) for children who can’t go home at weekends.

        Upside of boarding – most schools have a brilliant programme of clubs and activities (sports, drama, music, debating, chess, art, pottery, you name it) which take place during out of school hours. These can be huge fun and also really stretch young people, giving them opportunities to develop skills and interests in a way they can’t always at a dayschool. But lots of dayschools do manage this too and if you’re lucky enough to be somewhere like Oxford which has so many terrific sports, music and theatre societies for young people you can get all that anyway.

        So it’s fine for you not to want to board! I’m sorry to hear you worry a lot though. I did too when I was young, usually over things that either didn’t matter nearly as much as I thought they did (e g a homework topic I didn’t understand) or turned out ok anyway. I hope you find the worry lessens as you get older.

        Oh, and I never DID get a midnight feast. The matrons at my school were far too clever at preventing such things. Meanies.

        Like

      2. I agree with Griselda that growing up is painful. And so many of us are, or were worriers. Once you start it’s easy to carry it forward with you. I was a worrier too. Indeed, from my vaaaaast age I look back and realise that it’s only in the past 3 or 4 years that I’ve realised that it’s OK not to be perfect. And that no-one can control everything around them.That’s been like removing a particularly restricting corset (and no, I’m not so old that I ever wore a corset!). Now I do my best and if I fall short, or things don’t turn out as I planned, I don’t worry. Well, only a bit ;O)

        Like

      3. Thank you Griselda and Judi for replying to Holly. She’s gone to bed now but I’ve told her about what you said about worrying. Like both of you I am also a worrier and always have been! I think I am getting better, or perhaps I am just finding new things to replace the old things I used to worry about. Growing up certainly has its peaks and troughs but I know Holly feels better reading about people who have overcome their fears so it’s great to read your positive outcomes.
        Best wishes
        Sam

        Like

Leave a Reply

