These are the gifts that I would if I could give to you, by Holly

Holly recently enjoyed a poetry workshop at her school, run by Oxfordshire-based poet James Carter. (You can read about him at his website: http://www.jamescarterpoet.co.uk/index.html).

The children were asked to write a poem based on the sentiment: ‘These are the gifts that I would, if I could, give to you’ and this is Holly’s composition – we absolutely loved it.

 

For my Mummy and Daddy:

These are the gifts that

I would

if I could

give to you.

 

The golden key to an ocean of peace

A life so crystal clear you can see right through it,

The colours bottled up in a jar ready to spill out,

The warmth of a flickering candle glowing in the night.

 

I would give you all the brightness of a sunflower.

I would give you the guidance of my hand.

I would give you all the time you want and need

And all the happiness the world possesses.

 

These are the gifts

That I would

If I could

Give to you.

 

By Holly Fratter

 

What gifts would you give to someone you love, if you could?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s beautiful. Well done Holly!

    Like

  2. Oh this is lovely – such clear, warm images and keen sense of rhythm, all coming together in such a moving way. What a brilliant idea for a poem and how beautifully Holly has realised it!

    Like

    1. Thank you very much! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

