Posted in general and welcome

Goodbye, Pooki

Sorry we’ve been a little quiet on the blog for the last week.

Our little cat Pooki, who you might have seen in a few of our posts, and who starred with Holly in the Saturday Telegraph, went missing 8 days ago. We’d hoped that she would turn up, hungry perhaps but unharmed, from a little adventure.

Unfortunately, poor Pooki left the house on the evening of April 1 2013 in what was to be her last adventure. It turned out that she (probably) had a weak heart and collapsed beside a neighbour’s shed. By all accounts, her passing was peaceful from the position we found her in, from which we can take some comfort.

Naturally, we’re all upset here and disbelieving, as Pooki was very bright, happy and full of energy. We rescued her from an animal sanctuary where she was painfully thin and unwell. After a few months’ TLC, we managed to put some weight on her and she grew a lovely, soft fur coat, that would often fluff up comically when she played with our two boys – Socks and Archie. We only had her for 16 months, but we loved every minute of her life, and we hope she felt the same about us.

Holly wrote this poem for me during the time Pooki was missing, and I thought I would share it as I love the thought of Pooki having adventures. This is our little tribute to a beautiful cat.

 

She Runs Through the Night

 

She runs swiftly through the still night air

Taking every step through night with care

The family of her do not worry

As she knows her way around anywhere, even in a quarry.

When she is home she sits by the fire

Waiting for the night night climbing along branches as thin as wire.

Oh how she enjoys herself in the quiet night

Climbing and running along roofs at a dangerous height.

So she goes out in the dark

And comes back after having adventures like riding a shark.

For my mummy

 

RIP Pooki - we loved you (and still do)!
RIP Pooki – we loved you (and still do)!
Author:

Childtastic Books started out as a collaborative blog, written by me and my young daughter Holly. Now she's nearly a teen, she's off doing exciting and new things but I am still here, reading, writing and reviewing books for children and young adults of all ages. I miss her input but I hope she will pop in from time to time to do some guest posts! A little about me - I have just finished an MA in Children's Literature from the University of Roehampton (result pending, eeek) and am a part-time primary school librarian. The other part of my time is spent writing and editing, my own work and others, and I am waiting for my first non-fiction book to be published - a teacher resources pack for Handa's Surprise. I welcome comments and love to hear from visitors to this blog. Please note though that, because of time constraints, it is rare that I can read and review books from self-published authors. I receive so many requests and feel badly about not being able to keep up with them all. Thanks for visiting! Sam

4 thoughts on “Goodbye, Pooki

  1. What a beautiful poem, Holly. I am so sorry that you no longer have Pooki in your lives but glad that she had such a happy life once she came to live with you. I send you all love as i know what it is to lose a much loved pet.
    Keep writing, Holly. I love to read your words. 🙂

    Like

  2. The hardest part of having pets is that we will always out live them. Thank you for giving sweet Pooki a warm and loving home during her last days. Every pet deserves to know what it feels like to be loved by a family, and you all gave that Pooki. Holly’s poem is a touching tribute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

