Posted in general and welcome

Review: Camp Gold

https://i1.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/517n81OftmL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU02_.jpg

Image courtesy of amazon.co.uk

Title: Camp Gold

Author: Christine Ohuruogu 

What it’s about (from the publisher, Random House): Maxine is crazy about sports! She’s thrilled to be going to Camp Gold, an elite sports summer camp. She’s nervous too – will she be good enough? At the camp she meets good friends, cute boys and, best of all, she discovers her hidden talent – running. Soon she’s training for the Nationals, which will be watched by Olympic champions. It’s tough but it’ll be worth it if she wins. Then the pranks start and her things go missing. . . Someone is out to sabotage her chance of winning. Can she stop them before it’s too late?

Holly’s review: This is a really good book. It persuades you to like sport because you hear it from someone who’s good at sport so it influences you more. Maxine is a good character and I couldn’t stop reading it. I want to read more stories in this series. It teaches you about things too, like how bullies might not be as mean as you think.

Sam’s review: I’ll put my hand up here and admit that I had low expectations of this book before I even started reading it with Holly. I have an inbuilt suspicion about books that are sold on the premise of being written by celebrities and AN Other. However, I am glad to say I was wrong in my prejudices and, what’s more, the book and Holly’s response to it has taught me a valuable lesson. I used to worry that she would just like books that I liked but despite my scepticism on this novel, she insisted on reading it and devoured it in a matter of days. She loves running and the storyline, while not intricate or complicated, kept her glued to the pages. She was hooked by the excitement and suspense of the story, and I think she just genuinely liked it because it was about sports and something quite ‘concrete’ – a nice change from some of the more abstract books she reads about magical realms, etc. So we’ve discovered a new type of story for Holly to enjoy which is always a good thing!

Author:

Childtastic Books started out as a collaborative blog, written by me and my young daughter Holly. Now she's nearly a teen, she's off doing exciting and new things but I am still here, reading, writing and reviewing books for children and young adults of all ages. I miss her input but I hope she will pop in from time to time to do some guest posts! A little about me - I have just finished an MA in Children's Literature from the University of Roehampton (result pending, eeek) and am a part-time primary school librarian. The other part of my time is spent writing and editing, my own work and others, and I am waiting for my first non-fiction book to be published - a teacher resources pack for Handa's Surprise. I welcome comments and love to hear from visitors to this blog. Please note though that, because of time constraints, it is rare that I can read and review books from self-published authors. I receive so many requests and feel badly about not being able to keep up with them all. Thanks for visiting! Sam

2 thoughts on “Review: Camp Gold

Leave a Reply

